I Want Blue Velvet Cupcakes!

Have you ever heard of something and thought “WOW, that would be super cool! I’m going to make that.” Well that happened to me with this most recent project, except I didn’t find it, my boyfriend did, and I still had to make it. (He did try and help though, so I’ll give him that little shout out.) That is how the story of my trip down blue velvet cupcakes began.

They looked delicious in the pictures and I’ve always enjoyed red velvet, so I assumed these would taste delicious as well. But I’m not going to sugar coat this, they really weren’t that good. It’s not that they were awful, but the recipe called for buttermilk, which I had never had before, and that’s really what put us both off of these. But, I made them so they shall be chronicled. I got the recipe from this website: http://www.keyingredient.com/recipes/233138/blue-velvet-cupcakes/. I didn’t have Wilton food coloring, so I just used a whole bottle of the cheap blue food coloring instead, it didn’t have a brilliant blue hue, but it wasn’t too bad…I’ll just show you below.

First, I collected all of the ingredients (obviously):

Getting it Together

I mixed it up in the order the recipe calls for and when I got a whiff of the buttermilk, I was just hoping these were going to taste better than that smelled.

 

All mixed, minus the color

 

And he really did help 🙂

I'm not sure why this won't turn...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then the cupcakes went into the oven for the right amount of time, took them out, and let them cool. Once they were cool I frosted them with white cream cheese frosting and let Alex take a bite.

pretty blue

The first words out of his mouth were “Is this what red velvet tastes like?” This guy had never even tasted RED velvet and here is was judging a totally different velvet. Reactions by both of us were lack luster which made me disappointed. My first dive into ‘from scratch’ cupcake making and these were not a good start. If I were to do it again, I would use a different recipe, probably one with cream cheese to give flavor in replace of the buttermilk. We did try and make them purple instead–my favorite color–but that didn’t help and they look kind of gray in picture, but here’s one anyway!

Kinda gray :/

So now we have about 20 some blue and purple velvet cupcakes that I really don’t want to feed to anyone because they’re not very good, but feel too guilty about wasting all that food to actually throw them away. I’m hoping to come back after my birthday tomorrow and make something completely amazing again. I know I can do it, just absolutely no more buttermilk. Blech.

Frustration

Good luck to anyone attempting these, until the next post,

 

Bene Mangia!

~~Sarah

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

