I’m back with Brownies!

So I haven’t posted in quite a while, but I have a reason. I haven’t made anything good. I made the cupcakes, which were pretty gross, I made some scones (which I absolutely LOVE) that tasted like blech and those things, combined with others, shook my confidence in baking. I couldn’t bake. Everything I made was bad and I didn’t want to post a bunch of failures so I didn’t. BUT all of that changed with…

the ONE BOWL BROWNIES I made a couple of days ago. I’ve never made brownies from scratch (there’s a trend occurring with that) and due to my other failures, I wasn’t completely optimistic about this endeavor but I went for it anyway. I mean, at 9pm on Sunday night, when you decide you want chocolate and don’t want to leave the house, what else are you going to do?

You don’t need much for these, which made it just that much better :) I don’t have pictures because they didn’t last that long because they were awesome. They had a great shell while still being ooey and gooey in the middle. The one thing I would say about these is that if you’re going to make them for any type of party or a larger group, double the batch. They are a little thin in a 9×13 pan.

Below is the recipe, credit to allrecipes.com for getting me the basis to begin. On their site they had unsweetened squares of chocolate, which I didn’t have, so what’s below is my alternative, cocoa powder version.

As always, enjoy!

Bene Mangia!

~~Sarah

 

Ooey Gooey Chocolate Brownies (in one bowl)

Ingredients:

3/4 c. cocoa powder

3/4 c. butter

2 c. white sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 c. flour

 

Whatcha do:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9×13 pan to be ready.

2) Melt butter in large enough bowl to combine all ingredients in. Add chocolate to the butter and mix until creamy.

3) Stir in sugar. Mix in the eggs and vanilla. Add the flour. Stir until completely mixed.

4) Spread in pan and bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick is inserted and comes out clean.

If you doubled the recipe, bake for 30, check and turn. If not done, continue baking and checking for 5 minutes at a time.

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I’m back with Brownies!

  1. Mel

    I think I’m going to try that recipe–it sounds easy, no fancy ingredients, and it’s got to be good, it they disappeared that fast.

    If you ever want to do a chocolate cake & frosting from scratch, try the recipe on the back of the Hershey’s cocoa container–it’s pretty easy, and totally yum (and I have the conversion recipe that makes a half-size one, if you want it).

    • These were super easy to make, it was great! And YES! I would love that conversion recipe because we don’t need a whole cake with just the two of us, but I have been wanting to make a chocolate cake :) thanks!

      • Mel

        5 pm Easy Cocoa Cake

        1 scant cup flour (1 cup minus 1 tbsp, approx.)
        3/4 cup sugar
        3/4 tsp EACH baking soda and baking powder
        1/4 tsp salt
        1/3 cup cocoa powder
        1 egg
        1/2 cup milk
        1/4 cup oil
        1 tsp vanilla
        1/2 cup boiling water

        Preheat oven to 350F. Whisk together dry ingredients. In a separate cup or bowl, beat egg, milk, oil, and vanilla. Pour into flour mix and stir vigorously until smooth. Pour in boiling water and beat quickly until smooth. Pour into greased round or square cake tin and bake 30-35 minutes, until top springs back and tester comes out clean. Let cool 5 minutes in pan, then turn out on a rack.

        Frosting
        1/2 stick butter
        1/3 cup cocoa
        1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
        4 Tbsp milk
        1/2 tsp vanilla

        Melt butter, stir in cocoa.
        Alternate adding powdered sugar and milk, beating on medium speed, to spreading consistency. Add more milk, if needed.
        Mix in vanilla, and spread onto cooled cake.

      • Thank you! I’ll be making that some time after we come back to school after spring break!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

